Book Awards

Emma Neale Wins NZSA Peter & Dianne Beatson Fellowship

Dunedin author and poet Emma Neale has been announced as 2014 winner of the NZSA Peter & Dianne Beatson Fellowship. Read more...

Havelock North Teen Finalist in Sunday Star-Times Awards.

Havelock North’s Lucy Bennett has been named runner-up in the secondary school division of the prestigious Sunday Star-Times Short Story Awards. Read more...

Richard Flanagan Wins the Man Booker Prize - 2014

Congratulations to Richard Flanagan, winner of the 2014 Man Booker Prize for his novel The Narrow Road to the Deep North. Read more...

BNZ Literary Award Winners 2014

Hawke’s Bay writer, reader and winemaker Tobias Buck has won the coveted 2014 BNZ Katherine Mansfield Award for Short Fiction. His story Islands in the Stream was referred to as “challenging and striking” by adjudicator Charlotte Grimshaw. Read more...

New Zealand Post Book Awards

The Finalists of the New Zealand Post Book Awards 2014 have been announced. 

The People’s Choice award is an opportunity to vote for your favourite New Zealand book of the year. Eligible books must be written by New Zealand authors and published in New Zealand within the period of 1 June 2013-31 May 2014. Readers can vote online or in Library. Voting closes on Friday, 15 August. Read more

NZ Post Book Awards for Children & Young Adults

2014 Winners

Vasanti Unka "The Boring Book" won the Picture Book category. It can't be that boring as it also won the prestigious New Zealand Post Margaret Mahy Book of the Year! 

Congratulations to the winners, indeed all the finalists.


The Man Booker Prize Shortlist 2014

The Man Booker Prize Shortlist 2014 has been announced. The novels competing for the prestigious Man Booker Prize 2014 are... Read more...

Winners New Zealand Post Book Awards 2014

Congratulations to Jill Trevelyan, Eleanor Catton, Vincent O’Sullivan and Bruce Ansley & Jane Ussher, the winners of the New Zealand Post Book Awards 2014!  Read more...


International Book Awards

Some of the major book awards are listed below.

Children's Literary Prizes and Awards

New Zealand Book Awards

Who won that prize...? 

The Man Booker Prize Longlist 2014

The longlist has been announced for the 2014 Man Booker Prize for Fiction. New Zealand author Eleanor Catton won the prestigious writing award last year for her novel The Luminaries.

Among the selected authors this year are former Man Booker Prize winner Howard Jacobsen and two previously shortlisted authors Ali Smith and David Mitchell. Read more...

Hastings District Council   Hastings, Heart of Hawke's Bay
Copyright © 2010 Hastings District Libraries
Private Bag 9002 Hastings 4156 New Zealand
Contact Us | Terms of Use | Accessibility information